A Mighty Change Of Heart. 251 word Synopsis.

20 11 2008

As a fledgling artist, I realise that soon I’ll have to work out what place I’ll take in the Art world. The question of “What is art?” can be as long and complicated as “what’s love?” Say “Art” to people and they’ll refer to various Turner prize-winners, or art that has made it to the mass media, with a cynical comment about what is and isn’t art.

Listening to an interview with Martin Creed on radio 4, I had a similar cynical moment. Creed was introducing his latest piece, number 850, which consists of a single runner running through the 86-metre length of the Tate gallery.

Creed explained that in his youth, he thought art was something that we look at, something hanging on the wall. Creed continued to explain that art was more to him than that, hence his latest piece.

I sneered at Creeds comments, with the usual “it’s all right for him, but if I tried that” remark, along with the question of; is this really art?

During my visit to the Liverpool Biannual, I experienced a mighty change of heart. At the end of the day, I found myself agreeing with Creeds interpretation of what art.

The five pieces that changed me that day were; Yongbaek Lee “Break Through” and “Angel Solider”, Leandro Erlich’s “Carousel”, Yayoi Kusama “Gleaming Lights of the Souls”, Richard Wilson “Turning the Place Over” and Annette Messager “La Dernière Séance”.

I would like to explain what brought about that “mighty change of heart”.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

