Drawing & Image Making FA2005 Image. Text. Narrative. Proposal

15 10 2008

Proposal

I intend to work on four different areas.  Firstly, to work on Caricatures or cartoon based work. I am considering continuing the use of acetate for this idea, and to keep this very much a studio based project.

In my first year I created a “No admittance to” rant. This was inspired after a trip to Tate in Leeds, where there were very over zealous gallery attendants, telling people off for getting too close to the Artwork, or telling them not to take photos. With that project, I aimed to comment on the different class and social divides in our society, which I feel is still very prevalent, regardless of what people might think.

I am considering location work, which will involve placing each piece of the story/narrative in different locations, with instructions on where to find the next piece. I would prefer to carve the narrative on trees, but for the sake of not vandalising the countryside, I intend to place the narrative on paper then attach it to the trees.

Finally my cattle grid idea. I have always been fascinated by cattle grids, and I know a few jokes where cattle grids are included. There are a few in the area that I live. I would like to experiment with them.

Aims

I want to get my point of view across, and have people understand something about my character. Primarily, I want to show my sense of humor.  In addition I wish to enhance and display my drawing skills.

Previously I have never considered caricatures or cartoon-based work to be my strongest area, yet it is something I have always wanted to try. So my aim is to build my skill and confidence in producing such work.

Medium

I would like this to be either a paper based project, or as I have previously suggested, a continuation of the use of acetate. But in so doing, I would like this to evolve into something more than a 2D final piece.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

