Drawing & Image Making FA2004 Artist Books, Publications, Multiples, Editions.

10 10 2008

PROPOSAL

I propose to do a project based on creating a specific message or focus that may include a personal experience or event or political or social view. It may be as simple as receiving a speeding fine to recalling my wedding day.

I may also expand by researching into various mediums such as books, magazines, film, radio, and other media.

Half of my project will be based on presentation ideas, which include book making, using a variety of materials and differing medium.

I will concentrate on three artists. One associated with Zines, one contemporary artist and the third artist from a personal choice. I will look at various forms of illustration including cartoon, Zine and Graffiti artists.

AIMS

I aim to develop my understanding of Zines and to broaden my confidence of various techniques and processes, in order to create a tangible product that can be easily shared and/or passed on.

In addition I aim to keep an account of production costs in order to determine the possible profitability of using Zines as a way to promote my artwork in the future.

Mediums and Materials

I’m looking in two particular areas to create my zine. One being the use of origami and the other is the use of acetate. I’ve included origami in a previous project and I enjoyed it very much. However I never felt that I developed the use of origami at that time, and so I would like to continue to broaden my understanding of origami in this project.

I’ve always enjoyed using acetate, whether it’s creating an overleaf for a magazine cover, or using it as a paint pallet, strangely enough! However, I don’t recall using it, on its own, in a final project. I intend to experiment with colour, shape, positioning and lighting with the use of small torches, as well as attemping to produce a more traditional feel to the zine, but using acetate rather than paper.

Run

I want to keep my zine to a small run of around five to ten. Although I want them to be easy to carry and pass on, I would want to keep them fairly exclusive.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

