Self potrait

5 04 2007

Every artist has to do a self portrait once in their life, and this is mine.

can-you-see-me.jpg

me-in-five-pieces.jpg

How others see me.

When i first spoke to my tutor on the phone, for what ever reason i assumed that he was Caucasian. with a polite deep English accent, this was my first conclusion.

Imagine my surprise when i saw him, a five foot something, stocky west Indian fella, with 2.5 foot dreadlocks.

So in choosing a final piece for “how others see me” i did myself as a Caucasian speaking to someone at a call centre. She has no idea what origin i am.

The other is how i see myself. A surfer from Newquay, with a bible in one hand to show my religious side, a laptop in the other hand to show my love for the internet. The suit is to show my business understanding side of me, having been taught many business principles by my father, who now coaches financial advisors.

self-portrait-both.jpg

I used acrylics for both picture. It didn’t go well, but i was in a rush to finish.

Actions

Information

One response

16 08 2007
Andy Munzer

Hi Matt – I really, really liked these portraits – especially the colourful, composite one. The whole site is great, too. I think it really gives an insight into someone to see their art – and your art shows talent, too!

I’m just rushing through, but I’ll be back to look at more of your posts in greater detail. Keep it up! 😀

Leave a Reply

